Star Trek #48: Deity 1 of 2

 

Star Trek #48: DEITY (1 of 2)

Publisher: IDW Comics

Writer: Mike Johnson

Art: Tony Shasteen Colors: Davide Mastrolonardo 

Letters: Neil Uyetake

Editor: Sarah Gaydos

Release Date: August 5, 2015 

Lieutenant’s Log: After sending the Tholians packing (in #47) and repairing the Enterprise, Captain Kirk heads to the Banks-216 System, continuing their 5-year mission in the Alpha Quadrant.They find an indigenous species on one of the system’s planets and Kirk taps Hikaru Sulu to lead the landing party to the surface; he’s confident Sulu will make captain himself, one day, and Kirk believes this will be an invaluable opportunity for the helmsman to gain much-needed experience.

Using prototype technology that Mr. Scott has invented for the mission, to make them invisible to the inhabitants, Sulu leads his hand-picked team down to the planet to study this new civilization.

What could possibly go wrong..?

My take: I loved this issue! Dayyummm! As Sulu says: “Magnificent.” Mike Johnson is incredible! Just when I think the man can’t surprise me, anymore, Johnson leaves me slack-jawed; as I was here – again – at the end of this first (of two) issue. However, I know this is a Sulu issue, but it didn’t escape my notice that Bones is absent – again… As I have stated a few times, now, McCoy seems to be a recurring cast-member in Johnson’s ongoing series; not a star! 

That said, Sulu really shines here, as does Scotty. You can feel Sulu’s nervousness and trepidation at leading this mission, even as he resolves to do his very best to make his captain proud. He picks a terrific team (which, does not include the ship’s CMO) and Sulu has everything in hand, until…

As for Johnson’s alien species, well…you’ll just have to see it, to believe it! Absolutely incredible! I want to know who came up with their language? And, my gods – kudos to Neil Uyetake for bringing it to the page! Trust me, when I say, you will be blown-away by this unnamed species! 

One thing is perfectly clear: Mike Johnson loves Star Trek! He knows the characters, he knows how to grip his audience and he just keeps knocking these stories out of the park, one after another! 

The Art: I know, I’ve said this before, but Tony Shasteen is amazing. I never have any doubts about the quality of work, when I hear he’s going to be doing the art; and – Shasteen never fails to disappoint. But, here… He’s exceeded my expectations on every level! Especially, so far as these awesome new aliens go, along with their world and their technology. And, dude! I got a kick out of anthropologist Ferdowsi’s badass haircut! But, that’s what makes comic books so much fun! There’s no limits to what your imagination can put onto the page, and Shasteen/Mastrolonardo have truly outdone themselves – again… The colors Mastrolonardo has used are fantastic! 

The same can be said for the beautiful cover for this issue. It’s bold and vividly-colored, the likenesses are spot-on and I really just want to jump in and enjoy the ride! I want to show you more of the art, but I don’t want to spoil your experience! 

Overall: If you want a #GreatStarTrek comic book, you have got to pick up DEITY! Great story! Stunning art! And, an ‘edge of your seat’ ending that will leave you longing for its conclusion, next month! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
‘Til, next time, see ya ‘out there…’ 

Lt. Eric Cone 

Leave a Reply

