Star Wars: Shattered Empire 002

 

“Resistance. Rebellion. Defiance. These are concepts that cannot be allowed to persist, Captain…”

Hey folks! I’m sure – by now – that you have all seen the latest trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens – right? If not, here ya go… 

 
No, seriously…if you haven’t seen it (and, you’re probably the only person on the planet who hasn’t); here are some links: The Force Awakens. Most of the human race has seen it, dissected and analyzed it, written about it…cried over it. (You know who you are…)

Well, you get the idea. 

I wasn’t one of those who were slobbering over it, but that’s just me. However, I’m here to tell you a bit more about Star Wars: Shattered Empire; specifically, issue 002. Shattered Empire is a 4-part miniseries tie-in from Marvel – a ‘Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens,’ if you will. It’s written by Greg Rucka, penciled by Marco Checchetto, Angel Unzueta, and Emilio Laiso, colored by Andres Mossa, lettered by Joe Caramagna, with cover art by Marco Checchetto; edits by Jordan D. White.

 

Lieutenant’s Log: The Death Star is destroyed. Palpatine and Vader are dead. Having won a hard-fought victory following the Battle of Endor, the Rebel Alliance finds itself embroiled in skirmishes with persistant Imperial Forces across the galaxy – the war is not over…

My Take: In issue 001, we were introduced to Lt. Shara Bey; a Rebellion fighter pilot with impressive skills and plenty of grit. Indeed, Bey is overworking; signing on for every battle she can get into. Knowing the real reason she is pushing herself, the commander of her group, L’ulo, assigns Bey to light duty: enter Princess Leia…

Leia (with Bey as her pilot) is tasked with asking Queen Soruna of Naboo, to help form a new government and a new senate… 

Elsewhere, a messenger from Emperor Palpatine, himself, issues new orders to Capt. Duvat of the Star Destroyer Torment: “Operation Cinder is to begin at once.” Naboo is to be scoured…

Okay, so we’re two issues in and I’m still not sure how Shara Bey will factor into The Force Awakens. I’m aware that some EU references and storylines are in play; unfortunately, I haven’t read a lot of this material, so I may be a bit lost – I’m a Trekkie! Furthermore, other than her opening battle scenes, Bey doesn’t have a lot to do in this issue; she’s basically just a companion for Leia on her diplomatic mission to Naboo. Not only that, but Bey’s husband (Sgt. Kes Dameran, seen in issue 001) is out of the picture entirely; just a couple of mentions. For those of us who haven’t followed the EU, I’m finding myself confused; I feel like I need to know more. 

As for Leia’s mission (It’s so good to see her back in action…), and the Empire’s refusal to just simply die, I’m enjoying what I’m seeing. These questions I had about the days after Jedi are being addressed and events seem to be playing-out as I imagined they would. Kudos to Rucka on that front. 

 

And, again, the art is beautiful! I’ve really gotta hand it to this team; great likenesses of the characters (that are consistant), plenty of amazing detail and accuracy; and it has that Star Wars flavor, that really gets me excited to get my butt in that theater! I totally feel like I’m being treated to a new ‘Episode’ in these pages. I’m all about great art, and you’re getting your money’s worth in Shattered Empire – at least, so far… 


Overall: I was going to give issue 002 3 1/2 stars, but the art, letttering and cover has me over the moon; so I’m going to bump it up to four. Don’t get me wrong, folks, I am enjoying this miniseries! I just hope that Bey and Dameran’s story becomes clearer in the two remaining issues. I’m hoping some light will be shed on other aspects, as well: Luke, Kylo Ren, Finn and Rey. Judging by issue 004’s cover, we might get to see what’s happened with Luke, anyway…

‘Til, next time, see ya ‘out there…’ 

Lt. Eric Cone 


Leave a Reply

